THE VIRGIN SUICIDES

Ok, I’ve heard about this book over and over and true I’ve  been interested in the movie, because of Kirsten Dusnt played on it. But Im also curious about this weird book itself. Finally, Im lucky enough to find this book  and I just finished this book about 2 or 3 weeks ago.

Picture source

Title: The Virgin Suicides
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Publisher: Picador USA
Publication Date: January 1st, 1993
Genre: Fiction, Realistic Fiction

In the 1970’s, the five Lisbon sisters killed themselves over a yearlong period. The first was the youngest, Cecilia, and eventually the other girls followed. To the neighbourhood boys in their Detroit suburb, the Lisbon girls are a beautiful mystery, and years after their deaths the boys are still trying to piece together what happened. Who were the Lisbon girls, really? What was life like in their stifling and strict house? And why did they choose to end their lives in such a way? As the boys try and seek the truths that they will never find, they will never be able to stop loving the Lisbon girls…

Book synopsis source.

Anyway, I hardly to tell you about the synopsis so I just copied from a blog named hernoseinabook.blogspot.com. I found this book a bit strange because the book is told from the perspective of another person which is some boys that friended with The Lisbon girls. I do wish that the writter had given the sisters more detail personalities. I would have enjoyed knowing more about the girls before they were gone. Even these boys so obsessed with their every activity were unable to predict what was coming.

After I finished this book, the sad thing is that it is impossible for me to understand what drives these girls to take their own life with suicidal thing. But my father told me that mostly foreign book contains only clue and we should speculate the answer. But I do agree that suicide is a depressing topic. Oh, I got the exactly book like the picture above at Kinokuniya bookstore, Jakarta.

All I can tell you that I really love the book. Though I dont think I will re-read a whole book but I might re-read some part that I really like. Now I really craving for the movie as well.

Dengan kaitkata , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “THE VIRGIN SUICIDES

  1. maruplayground berkata:

    rated 7.2/10 in IMDB, i’m going to put it in my watchlist.

Tinggalkan Balasan

